Leadership 2017-06-01T13:32:22+00:00

Leadership & Board Members

Founded by Ohio Governor James A. Rhodes in 1966 during a ceremony at the Perry Monument at Put-In Bay, the Association of Ohio Commodores has been in existence for over 46 years. Named for the hero of the Battle of Lake Erie in 1813, Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry, Governor Rhodes established the Executive Order of the Ohio Commodores (which encompasses membership in the Association) to honor 60 Ohio businessmen who accompanied him on Ohio’s first international trade mission. Since then, over 300 men and women have been appointed to the Executive Order of the Ohio Commodore as recognition of their contributions to economic development in their communities, and to the State of Ohio.

Executive Committee

Grand Commodore – Alan Stockmeister
Fleet Commodore – Sam Covelli
Logkeeper – Steve Landerman
Purser – Richard (Ike) Stage
Immediate Past Grand Commodore – Clyde Rauch

Members of the Board of Trustees

Sam Covelli (Warren)
Stephen Landerman (Columbus)
Douglas Preisse (Columbus)
Mike Stinziano (Canal Winchester)
Ryan Wright (Jackson)

Regional Directors & Board Members

Region I – Julie Johnson (Urbana)
Assistant Director – Matt Huffman
Region II – Hu Huang (Cleveland)
Assistant Director – Don Majcher
Region III – John Keaton (Columbus/Cincinnati)
Assistant Director – Charles (Chip) Gerhardt
Region IV – Robert Roach (Columbus)
Assistant Director – Tim Adams


Chair of the Admiralty – Richard Hillis
Finance Chair – Ike Stage
Office Review & Regalia Chair – Cara Brook
Membership Chair – Doug Preisse
Nominating Chair – William (Bill) Morgan
Golf and Fund Raising Chair – Victor Hipsley, Ike Stage, Robert Roach and John McGough
Summer & Winter Meeting Chair – Thomas Johnson
General Counsel – Steve Cuckler

Other Key Roles

Communications Coordination – Gary Conley
Strategic Planning Session Leadership – Kirk Merritt
Programs and Arrangements – Gordon Gough and Victor Hipsley
Lifetime Membership Club – Ginni Ragan